Feng Shui     Feng Shui Remedies     Directory Resource     Feng Shui Articles     Learn Feng Shui     Feng Shui Advice & Tips        

Five Elements in Feng Shui

In traditional Chinese philosophy, forms of natural phenomena can be classified into the Five Elements: wood, fire, earth, metal, and water. These elements were used for describing interactions and relationships between phenomena. Five phases is another way of translating the wu xing cycles literally translated to "five goings".

The doctrine of five phases includes an enhancing cycle, an exhaustive cycle, and a destroying cycle. In addition to these cycles, each element signifies various aspects of the world and life: Wood represents the season of Spring. Fire represents the season of Summer. Metal represents the season of Autumn. Water represents the season of Winter. Earth is the transitional period between seasons and thus occurs four times a year.

The Wu Xing cycles are incorporated into various forms of science in Eastern philosophy , most notably: Qi Gong, Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) and Acupuncture.

Five Elements in Qi Gong
Qigong is an increasingly popular aspect of Chinese medicine involving the coordination of different breathing patterns/cycles with various physical postures and motions of the body. Qigong is mostly taught for health maintenance purposes, but there are also some who teach it, especially in China, for therapeutic interventions.

Five Elements in Chinese Medicine
Traditional Chinese Medicine also known simply as Chinese medicine is the name commonly given to a range of traditional medical practices used in China that have developed over the course of several thousand years of history. It is also regarded as an instance of oriental medicine, a term which may include other traditional Asian medical systems such as Japanese, Korean, Tibetan, and Mongolian medicine.

Five Elements in Acupuncture
Acupuncture treats the human body as a whole that involves several "systems of function" that are in many cases associated with (but not identified on a one-to-one basis with) physical organs. Some systems of function, such as the "triple heater" (San Jiao, also called the "triple burner") have no corresponding physical organ. Disease is understood as a loss of homeostasis among the several systems of function, and treatment of disease is attempted by modifying the activity of one or more systems of function through the activity of needles, pressure, heat, etc.

Other Links of Interest

Feng Shui Item: Five Element Pagoda
Five Element Pagoda

Copyright © 1995-2015, Smiling Bamboo Ltd.